And the Winners for the 12th Annual Feather Awards are…

The 12th annual Feather Awards took place last night at the home of the Constitution in Braamfontein, Constitution Hill and what an evening it was. Having to adapt to the new ‘norm’ the awards observed social distancing with an intimate evening filled with electrifying performances, emotional acceptance speeches and plenty of energy.
Synonymous  for it’s colourful live entertainment and witty commentary, the carefully scaled down affair did not fail to deliver with outstanding live performance from the super talented legendary songstress Gloria Bosman. Guests flew the LGBTIQ+ flag high and played out this years the theme “Turn Up the Love’ in all it’s glory.

With the current on going global pandemic, we made a call that the show must go on, obviously respecting all government regulations. Now in our 12thyear, the main reason hosting these awards during this trying period, was to continue celebrating the LGBTIQ+ community and turn up the love. Every year, we come together to celebrate our diversity and also inclusion for all and we felt we need it even more so in 2020” affirmed co-founder of the Feathers, Thami Kotlolo.

The dapper looking Thishiwe Ziqubu took the Best Styled Individual while super suave Gorata Nzimande was voted the most handsome in the land with the Hunk of the Year award. Hot Chick of The Year went to TV sensation Siphesihle Ndaba. SA’s favourite captain Siya Kolisi was the obvious choice for Sport Personality of the Year.

Best Rainbow Parent Award was scooped by Napo Masheane who was in attendance with her beautiful son. Rainbow UCT took Best LGBTIQ Student Movement for their extensive contribution to the community and Best LGBTIQ Initiative in the Public Sector  Award went to Constitution Hill for their on-going support of all things LGBT. Engage Mens Health won the Best LGBTIQ Initiative: Private Sector award.

The super talent Refilwe Modiselle scooped the Diva Extraordinaire of The Year award while the Media Award of The Year went to TV show Motswako. Coconut Kelz took Social Media Personality of The Year. In attendance the fabullous Vaivi Swartz & Sape Maodi-Swartz represented in true Feathers style as they won the Cutest Couple of The Year.

Role Model of The Year went to Dr Dulcy Stapler RakumakoeDrama Queen of The Year went to Somizi  & Dinner Kwa Somizi, Socialite of The Year to Olwethu ‘Olwee’ Mlotshwa. Musician of The Year went to global sensation, SA’s own musical treasure Master KG. Fag Hag of The Year was a tie between the business woman Shumi Dantileand SA’s number 1 LGBT supporter Siv Ngesi. The Simon Nkoli Award was bestowed to the queen of the night Gloria Bosman.

The ever inspiring African Feather of the Year accolade  went to Ugandan LGBT advocate Dr. Frank Mugisha.  Having won the Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Award and Thorolf Rafto Memorial Prize 2011 for his activism, this Executive Director of Sexual Minorities Uganda (SMUG) continues to be one of the most prominent advocates for LGBT rights on the continent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *